MATHEMATICS

FACULTY - Office Hours 7:30 to 8:00am - 2:40 to 3:30pm
Taylor Coppenrath - Taylor.Coppenrath@mvsdschools.org
Sarah Hankinson - Sarah.Hankinson@mvsdschools.org
Maria Gervais - Maria.Gervais@mvsdschools.org>
Kiran MacCormick - Kiran.MacCormick@mvsdschools.org​
Kelly Medor - Kelly.Medor@mvsdschools.org
Diane Mock Diane.Mock@mvsdschools.org>
Emily Popple - Emily.Popple@mvsdschools.org
Cheryl Poulin - Cheryl.Poulin@mvsdschools.org
Jessica Price - Jessica.Price@mvsdschools.org
Gage Sironi - Gage.Sironi@mvsdschools.org
Rebecca Weisburgh - Rebecca.Weisburgh@mvsdschools.org
Bryan Kohl - Bryan.Kohl@mvsdschools.org
Karen Vincelette - Karen.Vincelette@mvsdschools.org
 

   Mathematics Learning Expectations

   (From the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics)

  • Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them. Mathematically proficient students start by explaining to themselves the meaning of a problem and looking for entry points to its solutions.

  • Reason abstractly and quantitatively. Mathematically proficient students make sense of quantities and their relationships in problem situations by contextualizing and de-contextualizing each situation for meaning.

  • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others. Mathematically proficient students understand and use stated assumptions, definitions, and previously established results in constructing arguments.

  • Model with mathematics. Mathematically proficient students can apply the mathematics they know to solve problems arising in everyday life, society, and the workplace.

  • Use appropriate tools strategically. Mathematically proficient students consider the available tools when solving a mathematical problem. These tools might include pencil and paper, concrete models, a ruler, a protractor, a calculator, a spreadsheet, a computer algebra system, a statistical package, or dynamic geometry software.

  • Attend to precision. Mathematically proficient students try to communicate precisely to others. They try to use clear definitions in discussion with others and in their own reasoning.

  • Look for and make use of structure. Mathematically proficient students look closely to discern a pattern or structure.

  • Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning. Mathematically proficient students notice if calculations are repeated, and look both for general methods and for shortcuts 41 The following chart outlines the different pathways as recommended by the mathematics department.

ALGEBRA I 

Gr. 9-12 - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

.

GEOMETRY

Gr. 9-12 - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

Prerequisite: Algebra with a Passing Grade

ALGEBRA II

Gr. 10-12 - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

ADVANCED MATH

Gr. 10-12 - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

ALGEBRA 2/ADVANCED MATH

Gr. 10-12  - 2 periods, 2 semesters - 2 credits

ADVENTURES/INVESTIGATIONS IN PROBABILITY AND STATISTICS

Gr. 11-12 - 1 period, 1 semester - 1 credit

ELEMENTARY CALCULUS

Gr. 11-12 - 1 period, 1 semester - ½ credit

ADVANCED PLACEMENT CALCULUS

Gr. 11-12  - 1 period, 2 semester - 1 credit

Prerequisite: Completion of summer work package.

ADVANCED PLACEMENT STATISTICS

Gr. 12 - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

*This course requires the use of the TI-83 graphing calculator for technology support.

2016 Missisquoi Valley Middle & High School

 T 802.868.7311 / F 802.868.3129