SCIENCE

FACULTY - Office Hours 7:30 to 8:00am - 2:40 to 3:30pm
James Daly - James.Daly@mvsdschools.org
Adam Fortin - Adam.Fortin@mvsdschools.org
Janet Hatin - Janet.Hatin@mvsdschools.org
Sarah Hohmann Sarah.Hohmann@mvsdschools.org
Casey Hansen - Casey.Hansen@mvsdschools.org
Julie Kittell -Julie.Kittell@mvsdschools.org
Stephen McKenzie - Stephen.McKenzie@mvsdschools.org
Nathan Poore - Nathan.Poore@mvsdschools.org
Meghann Rowley - Meghann.Rowley@mvsdschools.org
Brian Varga - brian.varga@mvsdschools.org
Miranda Redmond - miranda.redmond@mvsdschools.org>

 ​Beginning with the class of 2019, all students are required to take a sequence of science literacy courses as recommended by the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS.)

 

 

Students will receive instruction that integrates Earth and Space Science, Life Science, Physical Science, and Engineering-Technology and Society each year instead of focusing on a full year of each branch of science separately. These new NGSS designed courses have thematic units that emphasize Science and Engineering Practices and Cross-Cutting Concepts for a limited number of Disciplinary Core Ideas. The topics of study have a conceptual progression that is mapped out three years at a time.

SCIENCE 9

Gr. 9 requirement - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

CP EARTH and SPACE SCIENCE

Gr. 9 elective - 1 period, 1 semester (offered in Fall & Spring) - ½ credit

Science 10

Gr. 10 requirement - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

CP Biology

Gr. 10 elective - 1 period, 1 semester (offered in Fall & Spring) - ½ credit

SCIENCE 11

Gr. 11 requirement - 1 period, 2 semesters - 1 credit

CP CHEMISTRY - Fall ­ - Liquids and Gases

Gr. 11­-12 - 1 period, Fall semester - 1/2 credits

Prerequisites: Successful completion of Science 10 (and CP Bio preferred)

CP CHEMISTRY - Spring ­ - Energy and Electrons

Gr. 11­-12 - 1 period, Spring semester - 1/2 credits

Prerequisites: Successful completion of Science 10 (and CP Bio preferred)

 

HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY

Gr. 11-­12 - 1 Period, Fall Semester - 1/2 credits

HUMAN ANATOMY

Gr. 11­-12 - 1 Period, Spring Semester - 1/2 credits

CP PHYSICS Fall­ - Newtonian Mechanics

Gr. 12 - 1 Period, Fall Semester - 1/2 credit

Prerequisites: Successful completion of Science 11 and strong Math skills

CP PHYSICS Spring - Electro Magnetism and Waves

Gr. 12 - 1 period, Spring semester - 1/2 credit

Prerequisites: Successful completion of Science 11 and strong Math skills

Forensic Science

Gr. 11-­12  - 1 period - Fall or Spring Semester - 0.5 credit

Prerequisites: Successful completion of Science 10

Environmental Science

Gr. 11-­12  - 1 period - Fall or Spring Semester - 0.5 credit

Prerequisites: Successful completion of Science 10

Technology & Science Connections

Gr. 11-­12  - 1 period - Fall Semester - 0.5 credit

Prerequisites: Successful completion of two sciences courses

Electronics & Computer Interfacing - Robotics

Gr. 11-­12  - 1 period - Spring Semester - 0.5 credit

Prerequisites: Successful completion of two sciences courses

2016 Missisquoi Valley Middle & High School

 T 802.868.7311 / F 802.868.3129